Superyacht Technology Conference
Absolute Boat Care
Viking Crew
Pharmacy Progrés
Palma Shipwrights & Joiners
Viking Maritime
Far Sounder
Breaking News
Home > Editorials > The 2019 Crew Awards

The 2019 Crew Awards

The Crew Awards ceremony celebrated 21 Crew Awards winners on 12th October 2019 in Nice at the stunningly beautiful 5 star Hyatt Regency Hotel. 400 Superyacht Crew and Captains attended the awards ceremony and the Liquid Yacht Wear After Party.

The Crew Awards reward superyacht crew that have proven themselves to be the very best at their job. The Awards are both a personal achievement and an industry-wide recognition of professional excellence and cover categories ranging from Captain, (Master Unlimited), to Entrepreeur and Humanitarian Crew awards.

Before and after the 3-course dinner Harry Riegel, a magician and mentalist from Munich, enchanted the Crew Awards guests with tricks and illusions. Stunning Capoeira dancers surprised the crowd with a breath-taking show onstage. The evening wouldn’t have been as amazing without the entertainment provided by Majestic Superyacht Experiences and the stunning event decoration by Y.E.S. Yacht Event Services.

A key star of the evening was the Axxess Marine Charity Ride which is focused on connecting participants through the sport of cycling, emphasisng a group ride/peloton approach rather than racing and competition. Funds raised in this year’s event go to the Amber Foundation. Formula 1 Icon Eddie Jordan led the group out from StarsNBars early in the morning and spoke passionately about the important work the charity does for homeless youth during the lunch party. Axxess Marine and ACREW joined forces this year to raise funds for the charity, proceeds from which will enable deserving young persons to complete STCW courses, raising a phenomenal 11,654.43€!

The Captain (Master 500GT) Crew Award, sponsored by your very own Islander Magazine,  recognises the achievements of a hands-on Captain who is experienced in working closely with Crew. Managing the budget, ensuring the safety onboard, as well as communicating competently are part of their day-to-day role. This Captain holds responsibilities across all operational areas and is the direct line of communication for all boat related matters. Three wonderful nominees went through a rigourous judging process with the eventual winner being announce on the night as Jason A Pliatsikas of MY Veni Vidi Vici.

Jason grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, destined to be a waterman from a young age. He grew up in the family restaurant in Falmouth Marina. His grandfather was a yacht captain, father a merchant seaman and his uncle manages port Pendennis Super Yacht Marina in Falmouth. He was exposed to the ocean from just about his earliest memory, sailing between Cornwall and France, water skiing, learning helmsmanship on the marina and surfing for the British team.Jason later studied at Millfield School and St Marys College in London on a rugby and athletics scholarship, graduating in 2004 with a Bachelors Degree in Sports Psychology and Injury.

After graduating, Jason was a personal trainer and played rugby in London. Jason came to France in 2007 when recruited as a private personal trainer on board a yacht. This re-introduction to the yachting world reignited his love of the sea and he never looked back, working as personal trainer and water sports instructor initially, progressing over the last 12 years to chief officer and captain on yachts from 28-65 metres on both sides of the Atlantic. Jason is committed to providing a safe and memorable cruising experience, and very happily settled in France & Monaco as charter captain of Mangusta 130’ Veni Vidi Vici.

Once the awards were over Captains and Crew gave their best on the dancefloor with the amazing music of DJ Dani L Mebius and Sebastiaan Hooft. That was also the moment for the ACREW team to let loose and join everyone. A big thank you went out to Lu from Liquid Yacht Wear for sponsoring the After Party!


For a full list of winners click here https://acrew.com/competition/crew-awards-2019/